Skip to content

What's New /

Announcing our Top 30 Collectors for 2020

RCF Program

We are very excited to announce the winners of BCUOMA’s second annual Top Collector Awards. 30 B.C. Return Collection Facility (RCF) businesses received Top Collector Award plaques, and were honoured for their exemplary performance and commitment to the collection of used oil and antifreeze materials across the province throughout 2020. In addition, we added two new award categories in 2020 – Most Improved Award for the RCF that increased its collection rates by the largest percentage, and Long Time Service Award that recognizes six RCFs that have been dedicated program members since BCUOMA’s inception in 2003.

“These B.C. organizations are some of the most dedicated used oil and antifreeze Return Collection Facilities in Canada,” said David Lawes, CEO, BC Used Oil Management Association. “They continue to provide convenient, environmentally-friendly and easy-to-use infrastructures for their DIY customers to return their used oil and antifreeze materials. Their efforts were even more impressive throughout 2020 due to the pandemic, as they had to navigate their way through many additional challenges to ensure their customers were comfortable and safe while returning their materials. We feel proud to work with such professional businesses across the province, and we are honoured to provide them with these awards that recognizes their commitment to BCUOMA’s RCF program, and their continued outstanding performance.”

BCUOMA’s criteria for being a RCF top collector include:

  • the total amount of used oil, oil filters, oil containers, antifreeze and antifreeze containers collected at the RCF location.
  • the total number of years participating in BCUOMA’s RCF Program.
  • a demonstration of continued support of BCUOMA and other recycling stewardship related programs.

2020 Top Collector Award winners:

1BurnabyCity of Burnaby Eco-Center
2Maple RidgeRidge Meadows Recycling Society
3Williams LakeJepson Petroleum Ltd.
4VictoriaHartland Landfill
5QuesnelJepson Petroleum Ltd.
6DuncanBings Creek Recycling Centre
7MissionMission Recycling Depot
8Prince RupertPetro Canada (Prince Rupert – Marina)
9Fort St. JohnFort St John Co-op Association – 100 Ave
10TerracePetro Canada (Terrace)
11CoquitlamMr. Lube #159
12SurreySemiahmoo Bottle Depot
13VernonInterior Freight & Bottle Depot Ltd.
14KamloopsCastle Fuels (2008) Inc.
15100 Mile HouseCastle Fuels (2008) Inc.
16SurreyHallmark Ford Sales Ltd
17KelownaGreat Canadian Oil Change 
18Lower NicolaLower Nicola Eco-Depot (TNRD)
19CastlegarErnie’s Used Auto Parts
20KamloopsDesert Cardlock Fuel Services Ltd
21CumberlandComox Valley Waste Management Centre
22ChilliwackChilliwack Bottle Depot
23LadysmithPeerless Road Recycling Centre
24KelownaDesert Cardlock Fuel Services Ltd
25Prince GeorgeFoothills Boulevard Regional Landfill
26Prince GeorgeJepson Petroleum Ltd.
27UclueletColumbia Fuels (Ucluelet) / Eagle Marine
28CranbrookCranbrook Depot (RDEK)
29SecheltColumbia Fuels
30Campbell RiverCampbell River Waste Management Centre (CVRD)

2020 Most Improved Award winner – (RCF that increased its collection rates by the largest percentage):

Fort St. John Co-opFort St. John Co-op Association – 100 Ave.

2020 Long Time Service Award winners – (RCFs that have been dedicated program members since BCUOMA’s inception in 2003):

150 Mile House150 M+S Tire & Service Ltd.
Gold BridgeGold Bridge Transfer Station
Madeira ParkPender Harbour Diesel Co.
Prince GeorgeQuinn Street Transfer Station
OsoyoosTown of Osoyoos Sanitary Landfill
Prince GeorgeVanway Transfer & Recycle Station

Congratulations to all the winners. We thank you all for your continued support of the BCUOMA program and your commitment to the collection of used oil and antifreeze materials across the province.